Cults @ Summer Stage



ph: Emily Bess

Ok… sooo I already kinda love them. If I was that cool/indie chick, I wouldn’t need the slickly produced music video. But I’m a lil chick in a big flock, and it was the “supervideo”— playing on my obsession with 60s French cinema, that conquered my heart.

Madeline Follin of the Cults band
ph:Buy A Fixie

The duo, Brian Oblivion and Madeline Follin, have haunted NY for YEARS. A quick Youtube search pulls up performances all over, including the Breslin at Ace Hotel, Mercury Lounge, yada yada. And now? THEY JUST GOT SIGNED.

It’ s about damn time. Pitchfork agreed. They described the song that I can’t stop singing (Go Outside) as having “the innocent and balmy feel that brings to mind Swedish indie pop, with a tinkling glockenspiel cutting through humidity, an appealingly lazy bassline, and joyous sing-along vocals.”

It’s perfect for a summer day.

Coming on at 7pm, following Friendly Fires ( another personal fav) and The Naked and Famous, make a day of it.

3pm/7pm
Sunday, August 7th, 2011
Mainstage @ Central Park (Rumsey Playfield)
New York City

